Rev. Billy Graham’s Powerful Quotes That Will Influence & Inspire You

William Franklin “Billy” Graham, Jr. is a Powerful Man of God. He is an American Evangelical Christian and an Evangelist.  Rev. Billy Graham was a spiritual adviser to several American Presidents and many world leaders. He was named the America’s Pastor.

Rev. Billy Graham’s ministry began in 1947 and since then he conducted more than 400 crusades in 185 countries and territories on six continents. In the year 1950, Rev Billy Graham founded the Billy Graham Evangelistic Association (BGEA) with its headquarters in Minneapolis. Later in the year 1999 the BGEA relocated to Charlotte, North Carolina.

In his lifetime, Rev. Billy Graham has preached the Gospel to more than 215 million people. Rev. Billy Graham is also a prolific author. He wrote 30 books, including his memoir “Just As I Am.”

I would like to share some of his quotes that influenced me personally and I am hoping they will influence you as well. They are very profound and are applicable to many areas of our lives.

On Christian Life

  • The Christian life is not a constant high. I have my moments of deep discouragement. I have to go to God in prayer with tears in my eyes, and say, ‘O God, forgive me,’ or ‘Help me.’
  • Being a Christian is more than just an instantaneous conversion – it is a daily process whereby you grow to be more and more like Christ.
  • Each life is made up of mistakes and learning, waiting and growing, practicing patience and being persistent.

On Bible and Prayer

  • It is not the body’s posture, but the heart’s attitude that counts when we pray.
  • Prayer is simply a two-way conversation between you and God.
  • Spend more time in study and prayer. That’s the secret of successful evangelism.
  • Read the Bible. Work hard and honestly. And don’t complain.
  • I used to read five psalms every day – that teaches me how to get along with God. Then I read a chapter of Proverbs every day and that teaches me how to get along with my fellow man.

On Character & Courage

  • The greatest legacy one can pass on to one’s children and grandchildren is not money or other material things accumulated in one’s life, but rather a legacy of character and faith.
  • When wealth is lost, nothing is lost; when health is lost, something is lost; when character is lost, all is lost.
  • Courage is contagious. When a brave man takes a stand, the spines of others are often stiffened.
  • Believers, look up – take courage. The angels are nearer than you think.

On Relationships & Family

  • God is more interested in your future and your relationships than you are.
  • No parent is perfect; we all can look back and think of things we could’ve done to help our children be better prepared for adulthood. And sometimes it’s best to admit it to them and encourage them to learn from our mistakes.
  • Nothing can bring a real sense of security into the home except true love.
  • The word ‘romance,’ according to the dictionary, means excitement, adventure, and something extremely real. Romance should last a lifetime.
  • A child who is allowed to be disrespectful to his parents will not have true respect for anyone.
  • Each generation faces different issues and challenges, but our standard must always be measured by God’s word.
  • I believe the home and marriage is the foundation of our society and must be protected.

On Finances

  • If a person gets his attitude toward money straight, it will help straighten out almost every other area in his life.
  • There is nothing wrong with men possessing riches. The wrong comes when riches possess men.
  • Give me five minutes with a person’s checkbook, and I will tell you where their heart is.
  • The time has come for all evangelists to practice full financial disclosure. The world is watching how we walk and how we talk. We must have the highest standards of morality, ethics and integrity if we are to continue to have influence.

On Technology

  • I am amazed at the wonders of technology and am grateful for the ways in which we are able to use it to share the Gospel around the world.

On Future

  • Everywhere I go I find that people… both leaders and individuals… are asking one basic question, ‘Is there any hope for the future?’ My answer is the same, ‘Yes, through Jesus Christ.’
  • God knows what we are going through when we grieve, and He wants to assure us of His love and concern. He also wants us to turn to Him and bring our heartaches and burdens to Him.
  • Make sure of your commitment to Jesus Christ, and seek to follow Him every day. Don’t be swayed by the false values and goals of this world, but put Christ and His will first in everything you do.
  • When granted many years of life, growing old in age is natural, but growing old with grace is a choice. Growing older with grace is possible for all who will set their hearts and minds on the Giver of grace, the Lord Jesus Christ.

On his Life and Message

  • I have never changed my message. I preach the Bible, and I preach it with authority.
  • Almost everybody will listen to you when you tell your own story.
  • Every day is a gift from God, no matter how old we are.
  • God’s mercy and grace give me hope – for myself, and for our world.
  • My home is in Heaven. I’m just traveling through this world.

 

Leave a Reply

